My Waking Dreams

I am the Star of mediocrity,
the Queen of accepting defeat,
the Leader of those who speak too quietly.
I am a Celebrity without a name,
Progress without the change,
and the Reason none of you came.
I am a Friend without dependance,
a Partner who transcends this,
and a Preacher of opportunities missed.
I am the Negativity that feeds me,
the Pessimism I don’t need,
resisting the Freedom of which I don’t dare to speak.
I am Trying,
I am Lying,
I am Dying slowly.
I am the Evidence,
the Resistance,
All that is missing.
I am the Cause for which no one fights,
the Result of too many vices,
and the Memory of someone I once thought was alive.
I am Struggling,
I am Wishing hopelessly,
I am Aiming, shooting,
and the one who is left bleeding.
I am the Enemy,
I support my own Fallacies,
and I operate Carelessly.
I fight Waking,
I Resist resolving,
I cannot admit that I am the Problem.
I am overarching Expectations,
I incorporate Anxiety into this,
and pick out what I am Missing.
Fuck it, I have Lost it, I am Destroyed from within.
I am Hope laced with realism,
Dreams outlined by cynicism,
I am Nothing I wanted in the end.
I am the Nightmare that never ends,
the Answer I continue questioning,
and the reason I am still Searching.
I am the Beginning,
Middle,
and End.

Leave a comment